Sometimes it’s the simplest things that are the most challenging.  Last Friday, I had an easy task of going to Salerno to pay the registration fee for my Italian language classes.   (I’m a little behind on the blog since we’re moving this week but more on that later.)  The boys and I drove down to the city and starting trolling for parking spots.    We almost completed a full circle of the city when I spotted a space.   After my truly excellent job of parallel parking the Panda, we emerged in search of a “parcometer.”   To pay for parking in the blue lined spaces in the city, you pay for a ticket in machines placed throughout the city.  (It’s actually good system.)   So far, I had only seen these elusive specimens as free standing gray metal units in larger parking lots.    Little did I know that city officials had also camouflaged them as small green units mounted on buildings.   For about 15 minutes, I dragged the boys around several city blocks fruitlessly searching for a parcometer swearing under my breath in frustration.  (Let’s just say I described the parcometers with an adjective that rhymes with plucking.)  I stopped and asked a gentleman for directions in Italian and he even understood me!  Off we go with a purpose but still no luck in finding one.   I swallowed my pride and called Luca for help.   After explaining the situation, he informed me that I could also purchase a scratch ticket type parking ticket in a tobacco store.   I had seen several in our city tour we quickly found one and I successfully paid double the amount for a ticket I would have purchased at a parcometer.    We trekked back to the car, placed the ticket in the window, took a few deep breaths to chill out and off we went to the Accademia Italiana.   Fortunately, all went smoothly after that and we stopped for a well deserved gelato limone on the way back to the car.  Just one of those little challenges that I’m going to face as I get accustomed to living in a new country…

