A beautiful morning

Walking down to Torrione

This morning I really didn’t have much that I had to do.   I felt slightly guilty for a few moments then realized that I needed to do some grocery shopping.    Grocery shopping must be done two to three times per week.   Refrigerators are smaller and food is simply eaten when it’s fresh.    Shopping is done in many small, specialized stores.  There are some larger supermarkets but the prices are higher and the meat and produce is not as fresh.  I probably wouldn’t have noticed if I went straight from a U.S. supermarket to an Italian supermarket but we’ve have become accustomed and picky.   (Besides I’m cheap!)     You would think that shopping more often would be a nuisance.  It can be but more often it isn’t.  Take this morning as an example.  It’s sunny and about 50°F.  I decide to walk down to the shopping area in the area known as Torrione.  Torrione literally means “tower” and this area is called Torrione because an old castle tower marks the beginning of it.    I walk down the street and pass by the school that Duilio will attend next year.   

Elementary School

Edicola

 

Ahead there’s an edicola or newstand.  You can find many newspapers and magazines at these stands scattered throughout the city.   

I need a few things for lunch and dinner.  I stop by the “Macelleria” or butcher to pick up some veal cutlets.  This is my favorite macelleria. 

Inside the macelleria

The macellaio (butcher) is quite nice. 

Macellaio (Butcher)

He didn’t laugh at me when I had to pantomime a rabbit because I didn’t know the Italian word.

I also need fresh bread so I stopped at the “panificio.”   

Panificio

Bonus! I also found some tortellini for lunch so I didn’t have to stop at one of the markets. 

Panettiere (baker)

Some markets are like supermarkets which went through a super-shrinking machine.  Everything is packed into about 1/20th of the space of a normal supermarket.  They tend to freak me out a little because they’re claustrophobic and always busy.  The check-out lines get crazy with the old ladies muscling their way into line.  So far I’ve been too polite to call them on it. 

Most things are more economical.  The bread and tortellini cost €2.50 (euros) and the three heads of cauliflower cost €1.00 at the open market.  However, the shampoo and styling product cost €30.00 which I bought at a salon. What the heck?!!  Notice the cheap beads that were my “gift”.  Gee thanks, how about €10.00 off instead?!!  Branded items costano molto in Italia!

Pane & Tortellini - 2.50 euro - Good Buy!

Cauliflower - 1 euro - Another good buy!

Small bottles of shampoo and hair product - 30 euros - what the ???

